Tournament of Minds teams bring home medals from Australasian Pacific Final

The Australasian Final Honours Team
Princes Street Primary School Students and Kingston High Students won National Honours in the National Social Sciences division on Saturday 19th October in Canberra.

Tournament of the Minds is a creative problem solving program for teams of students from primary and secondary schools, giving students sophisticated educational opportunities in the areas of language/literature, maths/engineering, social science or applied technology.

The Kingston High team for Social Science consists of Isabelle Dadswell, Harriet Mewis, Eddie Tomlinson-Smith, Nathan McKillop, Ivy Spurr, Marni Edmonds and Matthew French.

We thank the Kingston School Community for their support , the Hobart Laughter Group , the Kingston Rotary Market and Kingston Town Businesses for their support of our efforts and those of other youth programs.
Team Kingston at Parliament House, Canberra
This is a wonderful achievement and our school, families and local community are very proud of their efforts. The Friends School, Newtown High and Ogilvie also had teams in the competition. This result for our state was the culmination of thousands of teams competing across the Australasian region.

Just being part of Tournament of Minds provided an outstanding opportunity for our students to develop deep thinking strategies, diversity of responses, enterprise, time management and the discipline to work creatively and collaboratively within a challenging and competitive environment.

It was certainly a fantastic experience for our teams of  students and for us, their very proud teachers.  It also served to demonstrate to the community that our schools enable students to compete effectively locally, nationally and internationally.

State team
We would like to thank Penelope Wilde and her committee for the tireless effort in enabling schools to again compete in this competition and the Tournament of Minds Tasmanian Committee for preparing the teams so that Tasmanian schools can compete in an Australasian Competition that reflects our diversity and talent.

Democratic principles and understanding were developed as we toured our Nation’s Capital, as a unified State Team, in Canberra’s centenary year.  Tasmania can be proud of our teams of students who were complimented as ambassadors to Canberra.

Media Release - 14th October 2013

Students from a number of schools across Hobart are set to represent Tasmania at the Australasian Tournament of Minds Competition this week in Canberra.

Participants from Princes Street Primary, Ogilvie High, New Town High and Kingston High will travel to the nation’s capital to take part, following success at the recent State Finals held in Launceston.

Princes Street Primary School Principal Lynette Goodwin said that the competition provides opportunities for collaborative problem solving in a number of areas including Applied Technology, Language Literature, Maths Engineering and Social Sciences, with students from across Australia as well as New Zealand, Hong Kong and Singapore participating.

“The students from all of the participating schools are looking forward to meeting and competing against students from other states and territories, and it is great to see such a large contingent of Hobart students able to take part in the Australasian competition.

“All of the students have been working very hard to prepare for the Tournament, and I know that I speak for all of the school communities and teachers in saying that we are very proud of them all.”

Princes Street Primary School has two teams competing at this year’s competition, which is a fantastic achievement for a primary school.

Tournament of Minds is one of the fastest growing international school programs, aiming to enhance the potential of students by developing diverse skills, enterprise, time management, and the discipline to work collaboratively within a competitive environment.

The competition commences on 16th October, and runs for five days.

Hobart teams competing:

Princes Street Primary School
Sophie Muir, Malcolm Ward, Isaac Semmler, Ruben Williams, Ella Richmond, Alyssa Crisford, Meg Williams, Charlie Zeeman, Emma Ward, Alexandria Bennett, Riley Stevenson, Hannah Gibson, Julia Mountain and Alex Smith.

Ogilvie High School 
Chelsea Harrington, Jyoti Verma, Emily Thompson-Young, Dee Reynolds, Sarah Attard and Bhavika Sharma.

Kingston High School
Marni Edmonds, Matthew French, Ivy Spurr, Isabelle Dadswell, Nathan McKillop, Harriet Mewis, and Eddie Tomlinson-Smith.

New Town High School 
Jack Hancock, Jonathan Fair, Callum Thompson-Young, Nick Golley, Joshua Montgomery, Patrick Scully, and George Shepherd.

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.