World Teachers Day Australian Awards


State and territory finalists announced
Six of Tasmania’s best teachers and school leaders have been recognised today as finalists in the 2012 Australian Awards for Outstanding Teaching and School Leadership.
Announced by Mr Anthony Mackay, Chair of the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL), the Tasmanian finalists are:
·         Australian Primary Teacher of the Year: Ingrid Fielding, Dodges Ferry School
·         Australian Secondary Teacher of the Year: Kerry Whelan, Sorell High School
·         Australian Primary Principal of the Year: Jane Bovill, Riverside Primary School
·         Australian Secondary Principal of the Year: Larissa Brenner, Tasman District School
·         Australian Early Childhood Teacher of the Year: Jade Vecchione, John Paul II Catholic School
·         The Australian Government Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching or Leadership in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education: Trent Graham, Reece High School (nominated while at Penguin High School).

The Tasmanian finalists, together with finalists from other states and territories, are acknowledged for their expertise, exemplary skills and inspirational commitment to young Australians.
“The Australian Awards for Outstanding Teaching and School Leadership provide an opportunity to recognise and celebrate the nation’s most talented, innovative and inspirational school teachers and leaders,” said Mr Mackay.
“World Teachers’ Day is an ideal day to recognise these outstanding educators and indeed all teachers and school leaders across the country, who make a difference to the lives of young Australians every day and contribute to the broader teaching profession.”
The Award finalists will be further recognised, and national winners in each of the award categories announced, at the 2012 Awards Ceremony in Adelaide on 6 December 2012. The prestigious national event will be hosted by the Hon Peter Garrett AM MP, Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth and attended by State and Territory Education Ministers.
AITSL manages the Awards for the Australian Government.
For a list of all Australian state and territory finalists visit:

No comments:

Post a comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.